Upko president loses in polls, party wins only 1 seat


Upko president Wilfred Madius Tangau lost to PBS’ Joniston Bangkuai in Kiulu. (Bernama pic)

KOTA KINABALU: Several Upko leaders lost in the Sabah polls, including its president, Wilfred Madius Tangau.

Wilfred lost to PBS’ Joniston Bangkuai in Kiulu.

The party stood in 12 constituencies, but won only one – the Kadamaian seat contested by its vice-president, Ewon Benedick. Ewon defeated PBS’ Demis Rumanti.

Other party leaders who lost included secretary-general Nelson W Angang (Kuala Penyu), treasurer-general Laurentius Nayan Ambu (Tambunan) and Youth chief Felix Joseph Saang (Telupid).

In the last general election, several Upko candidates who won under the Barisan Nasional banner defected to Warisan, which allowed the party president, Shafie Apdal, to form the state government.

Click here for the latest on the Sabah polls

Source link

Leave A Reply
Bitcoin (BTC) RM315,473.38
Ethereum (ETH) RM16,568.05
Tether (USDT) RM4.72
BNB (BNB) RM2,846.26
XRP (XRP) RM2.26
Cardano (ADA) RM1.99
Solana (SOL) RM697.20
Dogecoin (DOGE) RM0.672319
Polkadot (DOT) RM30.14
Polygon (MATIC) RM2.88
Lido Staked Ether (STETH) RM16,571.68
Shiba Inu (SHIB) RM0.000102
Dai (DAI) RM4.71
TRON (TRX) RM0.547584
Avalanche (AVAX) RM149.12